UTokyo materials
E-resources


Academic information
CLOSE

User guide (for personnel from outside UTokyo)

for personnel from outside UTokyo

Before visiting the library

Confirmation that materials are in our collection
  1. Please be sure to use OPAC etc. to confirm bibliographic details of the materials that you wish to use and that they are in our collection.
    OPAC https://opac.dl.itc.u-tokyo.ac.jp/?lang=1

    • If the status field for the OPAC collection reads “On loan [return deadline: 20XX.XX.XX], the materials are currently on loan.

  2. Please confirm the terms of use (scope of use).

  3. Once you have confirmed that the materials are in the ISS Library, please inquire about the materials you wish to use via email, the reservation form, or fax.
    We will set aside the materials that you have asked about.

    FAX: 03-5841-4958
    TEL: 03-5841-4944
    e-mail: counter[at]iss.u-tokyo.ac.jp　　※ Please replace the [at] with @

    Click here for the reservation form → Reservation form

    • Some materials may not be usable because they are out on loan and some materials need to be requested in advance (privacy-protected materials, original materials, and repositories/collections), so please inquire ahead of time.
    • If you are from a university etc., please go through the library of your organization to make inquiries (i.e., find out whether the materials are in our collection and inform us of the day you plan to visit).
    • If you do not need the materials to be set aside, you can also come to ISS Library directly. However, the stack is a closed stack system , so retrieval by staff will take some time. We ask for your understanding.

Browse

About browse

The library employs a closed stack system, so retrieval is performed by staff.
If retrieval is not required as the materials have already been set aside for you at the counter, you can use them during the hours of 9:00-17:00.
If the materials have not been set aside, the hours for receiving requests for retrieval are as follows:

9:00～12:00 and 13:00～16:30 (retrieval prohibited during the hours of 12:00-13:00 and 16:30-17:00)

You may use the materials until 17:00 the same day. The door locks automatically at 17:00, so please be aware that you will be unable to enter after that time.

Browse procedure

Please write the title and call number of the materials you wish to use on the reading slip and bring it to the counter.
We will retain your ID card when we hand over the materials to you.

  • Any proof of ID can be used as an ID card, provided that it allows us to confirm your identity and contact details. For example, it could be a student card, driver’s license, health insurance card, passport, or employee card.

Whenever you wish to use additional materials, please once again write the title and call number of the materials you wish to use on a reading slip and bring it to the counter.
However, the stack is a closed stack system , so retrieval by staff will take some time. We ask for your understanding. In addition, retrieval is not available during the hours of 12:00-13:00 and 16:30-17:00.

Reading room

You are free to use the reading room.

  • Reading seats are limited, so please wait your turn.
Text magnifier

The reading room is equipped with a text magnifier. If you wish to use it, please inquire at the counter.

Non-ISS personnel: Use is limited to ISS Library collection materials

Hours available: 9:00-17:00 on days the library is open

  • Non-ISS personnel are limited to 90 minutes each time they use it, but if no one else is waiting at the end of this time, they may continue to use it.
  • You can also reserve it in advance. Non-ISS personnel can reserve it for up to 90 minutes.
  • Even if you haven’t reserved, you can still use it if no one else is. Usage is assigned on a first-come, first-served basis.

Please see the following PDF for details
How to use the text magnifier (PDF) (in Japanese)

Copying

Copying

To make a copy, please complete an electronic copy request form. You can obtain the electronic copy request form at the counter.

  • Copying within the scope permitted under Article 31 of the Copyright Act is allowed.
  • If, for example, the material has degraded, we may refuse to allow it to be copied, or may only allow you to photograph it with a digital camera, so we ask for your understanding.

You can use the photocopier in front of the library (10 yen for a black and white copy and 50 yen for a color one).
To use the photocopier, you will need a co-op card. Please purchase one in advance from the co-op shop(which is open from 10 a.m.) or elsewhere. (Cash cannot be used. Copy cards from the Faculty of Letters photocopy center cannot be used, either.)

  • A lot of people may wish to use the photocopier, so please wait your turn.

Ordering ISS books/copies

Ordering

You can use interlibrary loan (ILL) system to order books and copies of literature in the University of Tokyo ISS collection (only within the scope permitted under the Copyright Act), with ordering/pickup taking place at the library of your organization etc. (only libraries specified in Article 31 of the Copyright Act are eligible).
For details, please inquire at the library of the organization to which you belong.

Microfilm/fiche materials

Procedure

Microfilm/fiche materials can be used after completing the reading procedure.
Two microfilm/fiche reader/printers are installed in the reading room.

  • Regarding their use, persons who have made an advance reservation to use microfilm/fiche materials are given priority. If you haven’t made a reservation, and the two microfilm/fiche reader/printers are already being used, you will not be able to view microfilm/niche materials, so we ask for your understanding.
Payment

If you have printed out microfilm/fiche materials, please pay at a bank ATM on campus, and bring the ATM receipt (charge: 50 yen per page). For details, please inquire at the counter.

Rare books, Semi-rare books

About materials

Use of rare books, Semi-rare books is restricted in order to preserve valuable materials.



Please check the following details of restrictions on use.

Procedure

You will need to make a request for use of Rare books, Semi-rare books in advance. Please download the following application form from one of the links below, complete it, and bring it to the counter.
If you have any questions, please consult the ISS Library staff in advance.

Download application form (MS Word) / Download application form (PDF)

  • Please provide as much detail as possible in the application form.

[Contact details]
7-3-1 Hongo, Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo 113-0033
3F, Institute of Social Science Library, The University of Tokyo
Institute of Social Science Library, The University of Tokyo
Tel: 03-5841-4944 | Ext (from inside UTokyo): 24944)
Fax: 03-5841-4958 | Ext (from inside UTokyo): 24958)
E-mail: counter@iss.u-tokyo.ac.jp

Special permission of use（to publish materials etc.)

About this service

In-advance application is required, if you want to use materials holding ISS Library for reprint, broadcasting, etc. Please contact the ISS Library for details.

Download application form（MS-WORD） / Download application form（PDF）

[Contact details]
7-3-1 Hongo, Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo 113-0033
3F, Institute of Social Science Library, The University of Tokyo
Institute of Social Science Library, The University of Tokyo
Tel: 03-5841-4944 | Ext (from inside UTokyo): 24944)
Fax: 03-5841-4958 | Ext (from inside UTokyo): 24958)
E-mail: counter@iss.u-tokyo.ac.jp

totop